The incredible sleeping baby

Let me disclaim this entry by saying that the title is not meant to brag, but to bring up an issue we’ve been dealing with. First off, Curly *usually* sleeps 12 hours through the night. This is lovely…a bit insane, but lovely. No complaints on that. Nutella typically has to wake up in the middle of the night to express milk or she’ll wake up completely engorged over that amount of time. That is definitely not an issue though….the issue is how much sleep Curly still requires during the daytime. He is 3 1/2 months old and I thought would be able to stay awake for a decent amount of time during the day. Unfortunately, he can’t seem to stay awake over one hour without getting absolutely, eye-rubbing, yawning, cranky tired again. With the amount of sleep he gets at night, it surprises me that he is averaging at least 4-5 hours of naps during the day. That’s 16-17 hours of sleep!

A little Goog.le research has led us to believe that this is not that strange after all, so again, that’s not necessarily the issue. The issue is trying to go out with him. When we go places, he understandably wants to be awake and see everything that’s going on (and I like that). But since he can only stay awake for an hour (and that hour tends to include a feeding of at least 15 min), it isn’t long before he starts breaking down and getting super fussy because he needs his beauty rest. It wasn’t always like this, and I’m sure this period won’t last either, but these days it is very difficult to plan things or be out places because when the Tired Monster hits, he will cry and whimper upwards of half an hour before sleep finally takes hold. Depending on where we are, this can be very difficult to deal with.

Curly does enjoy going to new places, but my knowledge that not long after we arrive, I’m going to be dealing with an unhappy baby puts a damper on things. When lunching with a friend, I find myself blocking out conversation so I can focus on calming down my son. When shopping, I usually end up going outside and sitting on a bench until he’s able to finally fall asleep. I try not to go to faraway places, because if he gets upset in the car, he may end up crying the whole way there or back.

This isn’t to say we haven’t had good adventures together. And some days I get lucky and it’s not such a trial to go out. But the fact remains that it is challenging, and most of the time I’d rather not make plans with other people so I can fully focus on, and do what I need to do, for Curly. I look forward to the days when he’s able to stay awake longer in the daytime, but sadly by that time, I’m going to be back at work.

10 responses to “The incredible sleeping baby

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of sleeping! Some days I feel the same way but when I fuss, no one lets me nap.

    That picture is so cute!

  2. Yep. If you’ve got a kid who doesn’t really sleep on the go, it’s hard to go out. We were doing and “hour up” and “hour down” with Leigh at that age, and was really sensitive to too much stimulation. I sure was jealous of people who could jaunt all over town with their babies. But a happy baby is worth it, and they don’t really appreciate the adventures much until they’re bigger anyway (and there will be plenty of weekends for adventures then!)

    Can any of your friends come over for lunch? You wouldn’t have the pressure of getting out, but you could still have some social contact. And if Miles decides to sleep, you might even get to have an actual conversation. We also had some luck going to friends houses and napping Leigh in their portable crib.

  3. Wow! What a sleepy head… but a beautifully precious one 🙂

  4. Ha, I’m with Olive!

    Hope you two are able to work something out. I bet some of the mommies out there will have some good advice for you.

    xo

  5. His nap schedule should consolidate and solidify between 6-9 months; he’ll likely be taking 2 or 3 naps a day (on early morning, one early afternoon, sometimes one late afternoon). Once he is on schedule, it will be easier to take him out, particularly after his afternoon nap. That’s when he’ll have his longest awake period.

    Also, I am a SLAVE to my kids nap schedules. We miss parties and lunch dates, but having well rested kids is so worth it.

  6. im strangely jealous – im pretty sure i could knock out a solid 16-17 hours of sleep if my pesky job wasn’t in the way!

    adorable pic!

  7. You are so lucky!!! lol I know you wish you could do more (so do we) but I still cherish every sleeping hour! He is probably just going through a growth spurt! Our pediatrician had told us that the boys should be sleeping about 16 hours a day so your boy is right on track! I just laughed at him!

  8. This is just a big DITTO to everything Lyn said. Punk was not a “travel sleeper” and we basically didn’t go to too many places around this time. She napped best in her crib or our bed, and the better she napped, the less she refluxed… so we just had to do what we had to do.

    It will get better.

  9. Wow, that sounds really challenging. I hope he learns to start sleeping on the go soon.

  10. he is so beautiful! hopefully this is a quick stage and you will be all over town in no time.

Leave a Reply

