Take these flowers, please!

35 Weeks

Our due date is exactly one month from today. We’re both truly feeling excited about meeting and holding our son soon. We have a few more errands to take care of before he gets here, a couple more Bradley classes to attend, a baby shower next weekend and our weekly midwife appointments…but I have a feeling that the time is going to fly by rather quickly. Nutella is ready to have her body back, too. She may have felt her first Braxton Hicks contractions this morning- slight cramping while laying in bed that disappeared when she got up. I’m excited to think that her uterus is preparing.

We went to a fancy gala in the city last night for PFLAG. Back in the first trimester, Nutella snagged a couple fancy maternity dresses from Freecycle. I asked why she needed those and she told me “You never know.” Lo and behold, we got serendipitous tickets to last night’s event just a couple days ago, and are also invited to a wedding 11 days before our due date. Thankfully, one of the two dresses was perfect for the gala and should be fine for the wedding, too. We were both thrilled to meet Alan Cumming at last night’s event and got a picture with him after he kissed our cheeks. I should’ve had him send some musical theatre vibes to our unborn child, although with Nutella’s theatrical background, I think that’s probably been taken care of already.

As Nutella’s been getting bigger and bigger, she’s been wanting more attention from strangers regarding the pregnancy. People have been on their best behavior around her though- no random people have touched her belly or anything. However, last night, while I was waiting outside for valet to get our car and Nutella was still in the hotel, the woman next to me leaned over and asked “When’s she due?” I was a bit surprised, not having seen this woman the entire night, but had a conversation with her in which she got the details of our pregnancy and then told me all about her two early deliveries, etc. Then, when the woman’s car was pulled up, she ran inside the hotel to hand Nutella the tulip centerpiece she had taken after the event ended, explaining that she wanted Nutella to have it since she was expecting. People are funny.
9 responses to “Take these flowers, please!

  1. love the belly pic!! i’m due exactly 4 weeks after you guys – can you believe it’s so close?

  2. really excited for you two! my partner and i just got a positive pregnancy test last week. we are rooting for you and excited to see your new son in about a month.

  3. I just can’t believe how quickly the time goes… my oh my. I can’t wait to see the little one!! And I LOVE the belly pic!!

  4. WOW! one more month!! yes, i think time will fly by. Great belly momma!

  5. what a funny gesture! 😉 very sweet, though!

    love the belly pic, what a beautiful baby bump!!!

  6. That is one of the last belly pics ladies! OMG! I have a feeling the month is going to fly by. I am so very excited for you.

    The gala sounds great. I’m glad you got to go and that woman was so sweet.

  7. Great belly pic!

  8. reproducinggenius

    One month! That’s amazing! I love the belly pic and the story. It’s always great to get flowers.

  9. Love the belly shot!! In response to your reply on my last post.. Ohio does not have 2nd parent adoption. We are meeting with our lawyers on April 9 to find out other options.

Leave a Reply

