Overheard in the ER

On the other side of the curtain is an elderly couple.  The man is unable to pee so they are going to give him a catheter.  Their Dr. is visibly pregnant.  After she leaves to get the catheter this conversation takes place:

Woman: I’m glad I don’t have to do THAT anymore!

Man: What?

Woman: Pregnancy.  I don’t envy anyone who’s going through that.

We seriously could not stop giggling silently at this exchange.  They had arrived after my intake interview so they had no way of knowing that there was a sick pregnant lady just on the other side of the curtain.

Thank you for all of your good wishes about yesterday’s ordeal. Today I am feeling somewhat better.  No more nausea thanks to the Zofran.  On a very limited diet which is boring, but I’m sticking to it.  Managed to make it into work for a few hours and got to see my out of town boss, which was very good.  I also told my team about my pregnancy and got congratulations all around.

7 responses to “Overheard in the ER

  1. Funny conversation!
    So sorry about your scare yesterday….and I’m glad that you are doing better today. Hope that it continues!

  2. So glad you’re feeling better!

  3. Just amuse yourself thinking of all the possible future Cupcake/Wallaby Play Dates!

  4. N&J: Wallaby, eh? Very cute 🙂

  5. Hmm, I just happen to know a very silly children’s song with “Wallaby” in it.

  6. So glad to hear that you are feeling better! That did not sound like a fun trip at all, but at least you got a funny story out of it.

  7. 🙂 Thank you. We strive for cute! I would love to know the song. I am currently in charge of wallaby communications.

Leave a Reply

