End of 9 weeks

You know that bit I ended my last post with, about Nutella feeling a little better? Total lie. Ok, the heartburn/reflux has eased somewhat (although it sometimes flares up unexpectedly), but the nausea has gotten worse. Apparently these are difficult weeks with lots and lots of growth. The brain and organs are all forming…Cupcake is now the size of a grape or a strawberry or whichever fruit metaphor you like best….and the uterus is the size of a grapefruit. It is totally knocking the baby mama out, although she did have a weekend of feeling good. But last night it was back to going to bed at 9pm.

We are eagerly awaiting our first OB appt on Friday morning. I would love to see the Cupcake, knowing that it would be the first time we see it looking remotely human and not the beautiful but strange blob we saw in the 7th week. Somehow I doubt that will happen. Most likely it will be “pee in a cup”, “give us your blood”, and “are you being healthy?” I am researching everything I can on my end, but I’d like to see more of our baby, not drawings or ultrasounds of other peoples’.

During the first few weeks, I kept asking Nutella two questions over and over: 1. How are you feeling? and 2. When did you last eat? Now I ask: On a scale of 1-10, how bad are the heartburn and nausea? The most recent answer was “2 and 9.” Yikes.

10 responses to “End of 9 weeks

  1. Oh, no! Sorry Nutella is feeling so bad. I hope this bad spell doesn’t last too long. I also hope you get to see your baby on Firday. Can’t wait for the next ultrasound pic!

    I should be testing this weekend, so hopefully we’ll both have good news!

  2. Hopefully things will get better at the end of the first trimester.

    Oooh…our fingers are crossed for you gals!!

  3. glad to hear you are feeling SO much activity (means that little one has a good hold on you) AND at the same time, so sorry you are feeling so enormously crappy!

    little cupcake is growing! yay!! i had no idea that at 9 wks the uterus was already the size of a grapefruit… now wonder you are tired!!

    thinking of you, have a great appt on friday.

  4. Wow, that’s a big uterus! I’m sorry Nutella’s not feeling so well. Hopefully it will just be a couple more weeks of this and then she’ll feel better in the second trimester.

  5. Aww, poor Nutella. Comfort is around the corner for her, I hope sooner rather than later!

  6. I hope you guys are able to get an ultrasound on Friday. Nutella – I hope you start feeling better, soon. Personally I say there is no shame in going to bed at 9pm. Have to say I have been doing so myself.

  7. In regards to nausea-

    I am not pregnant, so I don’t know if this will work for you as well as it works for me. I am nauseous ALL THE TIME because it’s a medication side effect (I’m not willing to give up the drug in question). Anywho, there are two things that I do that really help:

    1) Steep fresh ginger in really hot water (from a kettle, not the tap) for about fifteen minutes. Add a little lemon, and you’ve got tea that might relieve you.

    2) Carry ginger Altoids or candied ginger with you ALL THE TIME. You never know when nausea will strike, so I keep a tin in my purse, my car, my bedroom, my living room, etc.

    Because I don’t know if pregnancy nausea is different from other types of nausea, it might not do as well for you as it does for me. However, it is totally worth a try. Those ginger Altoids are worth their weight in GOLD.

    If it doesn’t work, surely there’s a drug out there safe for pregnancy. Ask your OB/GYN about Zofran, Carafate, Phenergen, Tigan, Coca-cola syrup, and anything else he/she might recommend.

    A word about the Phenergen… Again, I am not pregnant… and it made me sleep for two days straight. Maybe it doesn’t so much *cure* nausea as it makes you *not care.*

    My two cents. I hope you feel better!

  8. Oh, and one more thing- you might want to try drinking caffeine free regular Coke when you are really, really sick.

    That might work better than swallowing cola syrup, but I have it on excellent authority that they bottle cola syrup and sell it in Walgreen’s with the other anti-nausea drugs… but it might have caffeine in it. I’ve never checked.

  9. That is the cutest ticker ever! Hope you feel better soon.

  10. Thanks for all of your support these past two weeks. Hope your doctor’s appointment goes well.

Leave a Reply

