Take 2

Got a faint line on the OPK last night and then a positive this morning.  At 8am I called the RE to make an appt for my IUI on Wednesday.  Gave all my info and she said she’d call me back with the appt time.  I asked them to call me at work and hit the road.  At 9:45 I still hadn’t heard from them, so I called again and gave my name and was told “oh, you already have an appt”.  Really?  I have an appointment?  Well, I’d really appreciate if someone told me what time so I could, you know, actually BE THERE.  Ok, I didn’t actually say it like that, but I managed to get my point across and was transferred to the nurse.

Nurse tells me appointment time is 10-10:30.  Ok, was hoping for something earlier, but we can do that.  Then she asks me if I’m bringing my own sample.  Umm, no. You are storing my sample in your city office and the Dr. told us during our initial consult that she will transport the samples from the city office herself.  Nurse tells me she will check with the Dr. and if the Dr. can’t transport then they will look into a courier.  I ask her to please call me with pricing if they need to do that because if I have to schlep all over town for the IUI I’d rather save the $ and go to the city office.  She agrees to call me back.

11:45am I still haven’t heard back from them so I call again.  I get transferred to the same nurse who assures me that the Dr. will transport our sample herself and everything is set for 10 am tomorrow in the suburban office.

So, the 2nd batch of “making a cupcake” is about to commence.

11 responses to “Take 2

  1. You’re getting rather adept at jumping through those hoops! I’m so excited for you. All crossed. ox

  2. i agree, you have become quite the hoop jumper. i still want to have a couple of choice words with your RE office, btw.

    i have my finger’s crossed for you this month! i think you timing will be great. here’s to a nice open cervix with lots of ewcm!!

  3. Yay! Sending good baby-making juju your way. Second time’s a charm, I think…

    🙂

  4. Good luck with your baking! I hope it all goes a bit smoother then the scheduling of your IUI – that is horrible. Good luck and my fingers will be crossed.

  5. Good luck tomorrow!!

  6. Hopefully you were just getting the kinks out before you start. Good luck with the insem tomorrow!

  7. Good luck to you! So sorry you got the run aorund. I am really enjoying your blog and wondered if I could add you to my blogroll?

  8. Thanks for the good wishes everyone! Duchess- please feel free and we’ll be sure to keep up with yours, too 🙂

  9. Hi Nutella and Strawberry. Your frustrations with the office you are working with sound OH SO FAMILIAR to me. Let’s see…a fairly new nurse has taken over for someone who was pretty much a legend in that practice right? -Monica

  10. a bit late – but good luck!

  11. Thanks for the good wishes everyone! Monica, we are going to the suburban office of the same practice you are speaking of. I never had the privlige of working with that legendary nurse. I my experience, this amount of “hoop jumping” is all part of the medical system in this country. You have to be your own best advocate.

Leave a Reply

