It’s a giant baby!

Yep, me.  I am still a giant baby when it comes to needles.  Somehow over the years I have managed my phobia well enough to suffer thru tetanus boosters and flu shots with a minimum amount of fuss and hysterics.  But it has been at least 6 years since my last blood draw and I’m still as much of a wreck as I always have been.  My blood pressure drops and I get cold, my veins retreat, I get tingly extremities, my ears ring, and I have to concentrate very hard with my eyes squeezed shut on breathing deeply and not passing out.  And then once I’m given the “all done” I burst into tears.  Thereafter, a quickly administered small amount of chocolate boosts my blood sugar enough to counteract the drop in blood pressure.  I need about 10 minutes to recover enough to walk and my arm will be weak and almost useless for the rest of the day.    All of this for 1 tiny vial of blood.  Like I said, a giant baby.

But, I survived the blood draw for my CMV screening.  The phlebotomist was very quick and patient. Strawberry was there to hold me and reassure me and administer the chocolate.  She’s so good and kind and now she can commiserate with my mother over what a ninny I am.  It would be really great if this were the last time I needed blood drawn during the whole “have a baby” process, but I know that’s impossible.  I think I may explore the possibility of getting a prescription for a topical numbing cream, and I am going to request to lie down next time.

I don’t know when we’ll know the results, they will only release them to my OB, since she’s the one that did the lab order.  I guess I can call them starting on Monday.

4 responses to “It’s a giant baby!

  1. You sound like my wife. 🙂 She ALWAYS asks to lie down. It seems to help.

  2. You and I share the same symptoms. I always ask for valium beforehand, and usually get it. Unfortunately, it won’t be useful when there’s a baby on the way 😦 The best thing I’ve found is to tell the phlebotomist that I’m terrified of needles and to *not* tell me when they’re going to draw blood. If I’m distracted enough, it normally doesn’t bother me as much.

  3. Thank for the support, guys. I don’t watch any needle related activity and I’m very clear about my fear with the medical professionals involved. In trying to disect my phobia I have come to the conclusion that it is the feeling of something violating my skin, my armor, that causes me to freak out. Hence the “phantom” feeling that the needle is still there hours after it is gone. My body is so distressed about having it there in the first place that I lose the ability to distinguish it’s presence from its absence.

  4. Do you know if your needle-phobia affects your blood sugar as well as your blood pressure? Because at some point (too many tests, don’t remember when) you’ll have to have a glucose test for gestational diabetes. Although after re-reading, I see that it drops your BP, not raising it.

Leave a Reply

