The Great Pumpkins

We kicked off Fall with a bang and went apple and pumpkin picking with friends and their children. Here are some pictures.

A while back on the question post, Olive asked “What is your favorite tradition that you hope Curly will grow up cherishing (or at least participating in)?”  Apple picking is certainly one of them, as well as pumpkin picking and carving.  We’ll be going back for pumpkins in a couple weeks.  The actual apple picking wasn’t that great, (we went on a Sunday and I think most of the good stuff got picked on Saturday) but I had enough to make a pie.  I used my mother’s crust recipe and the rolling pin I remember my grandmother using when I was a child.  And Curly quite enjoyed sharing a piece with us the next evening.  I hope it’s just the first apple picking and apple pie in a long line of years.

13 responses to “The Great Pumpkins

  1. That is the best tradition ever!

  2. It was a fun day! :) We made a pie, too… check the blog soon for the whole story!

  3. These are precious. I love Fall!

  4. I am seriously in love with his hair in that last pic. :-)

    Looks like you had a great time! I think we’re going this weekend. I can’t wait.

  5. wishinghopingpraying

    This is one of my favorite traditions to pass on. It’s all about fall, pumpkin picking/carving and baking!

  6. Here, here! Even though I still don’t really like to EAT apple pie, some of my favorite memories of growing up are of apple picking, apple pie making, and apple sauce making (usually all in the same day!). Sadly, the closest apple picking places around here are 2-3 hours away. That’s a bit far for me right now. Guess I’ll just have to get mine at the wonderful farmer’s market down the way!

  7. Great pictures! Going to the pumpkin patch is one of my favourite things to do with the kids too. I can’t wait to go in a couple of weeks!

  8. Perfect picture, naturally. :) It looks like a great time. We’re doing the apple picking this weekend…it too is one of my favorite fall activities.

  9. aw, those pictures are so sweet! i cant believe what a *big boy* he is turning into!! :~)

  10. We’re big apple/pumpkin picking fans – that’s a great tradition!

  11. These pictures are beautiful…. so vibrant. When you have repeated this tradition year after year, these first pictures will mean so much to Miles!

  12. He looks like he had sooo much fun! I love these pictures. Can we have the files???? Love ya!

  13. SO cute. Love the bright fall colors.

Leave a Reply

