Due date, take deux

Yeah, did you notice that Strawberry changed all our tickers to make today our due date?  It makes us feel better since today would be the due date based on conception.

Yesterday’s midwife appointment included another cervical check and a vigorous stretch and sweep, which is about as much fun as it sounds.  It did however bring on some cramping and some bloody show through the evening and night.  Actual sleep is a thing of distant memory for me and I suspect it will be many more months until I rediscover it.

Everything checked out fine, urine, weight, BP, heartbeat, fundal height (40 weeks).  The cervical check revealed that I am 3.5 cm dilated but the midwife could easily stretch me to 5 cm.  She was feeling the top of Cupcake’s head as he wiggled it against her fingers.  She could actually feel his fontanels!  We were sent on our way with a referral for the back-up OB to get a bio-physical profile on Friday, but also with well wishes that we would go into labor before then.  We certainly hope so!

19 responses to “Due date, take deux

  1. I can’t imagine how tough this wait is. I’m wishing you ladies a speedy and “uneventful” arrival of your precious boy.

    Sending internet hugs!

  2. Full moon is on the 9th of May. I vote you will definitely be un-pregnant by that date. It’s so funny that at the beginning getting pregnant is the goal…and 10 months later getting un-pregnant is just as motivating. Thankfully the second is a sure bet.

    I’m looking forward to hearing your peaceful birth story.

  3. Gosh-I can’t imagine how excited and impatient this process could be! Good luck between now and Friday!

  4. you are such a trooper! hang in there!

  5. um, a “stretch and sweep” sounds scary! :(

    i’m hoping for you that cupcake shows before friday too, i cant wait to hear about his arrival!!

  6. reproducinggenius

    It sounds like things are progressing! You’re hanging in there really well, moms, and it won’t be long. Try to get some rest when you can! xoxo

  7. Good luck! I hope things start moving quickly for you!

  8. I’m so excited to hear that you are making progress. It sounds like cupcake will make his arrival soon (although I’m sure it can’t be soon enough for you two).

  9. I know the wait and discomfort are killing you but hang in there! He’s on his way even if he is taking his sweet time.
    xoxo

  10. oy, what a show your little man in putting on for his mommies!! This wait, I’m sure stinks, it will all be over and well worth every second once you get cupcake in your arms…

  11. C’mon cupcake… there are so many people on the outside waiting to meet you!!

    Hang in there mommies :)

  12. oops, that last comment was mine :)

  13. Dude! I’m SO bummed that you guys are STILL waiting. But, I know it is close now. I’m sure by the end of the week he’ll be here. I’ll put in a plug for May 1st–it’s a great day for a birthday! :)

    Hang in there you guys!

  14. Wow.. he will be here quickly.. definitely by Friday :)

  15. I can’t believe she was touching his head. That seems like it should be in Ripley’s Belief it or not.

  16. come on baby! sending labor vibes your way!

  17. How exciting! Let the refreshing commence. Good luck!

  18. Yeah baby! Can’t wait to hear the exciting news.
    Good labor vibes are definitely being sent your way!
    xo

  19. Oh I am happy you guys have changed your due date… and I add my wishes for this boy to make his appearance… Cupcake you moms and whole internet are waiting!!!

Leave a Reply

