Full Term

It’s very tempting to make some sort of April Fools post, but I promise this isn’t one. We’re very happy about today though, as today marks 37 weeks and thus, full term. We will hopefully be meeting our little one near the middle to end of this month. Since my topics will be all over the place, I’m going to switch over to bullets:

  • We now have a working shower again, completed as of yesterday afternoon. Thank goodness.
  • Our professional photo shoot was put on hold until this coming weekend due to said shower catastrophe and what seemed like a rainy day. The rainy day actually turned into a beautiful one, so Nutella and I went out and took our own pictures with the spring blossoms (one appears at the end of this post)
  • My boss invited my co-workers and I to a cookout yesterday afternoon during our lunch break. At the end of the cookout, he said “Wait, I have dessert” and ran to his car. He returned with cupcakes for all and a baby shower card for me, signed by everyone,¬†with a $100 Target gift card. I hadn’t really thought they would do anything for me, and I was really touched and delighted.
  • We had a good midwife appointment yesterday. Nutella does not have Group B Strep which means no antibiotics during birth- yay! Baby is still doing well with a beautiful heartbeat. Everything else looked good and we had our favorite midwife for the third appointment in a row.
  • We have *almost* everything we need for this baby, but would be ready if he came now. The nursery is still full of stuff to be put away, but it’s getting there. I really want to share pictures of the room with you, but not while every surface is covered with piles.
  • Finally,¬†like one of the moms over at Reproducing Genius spoke about recently, I feel like I’m going through major emotional “housecleaning.” At this point, little else seems to matter to me but my wife and our child. I know what kind of parent I will strive to be, based on my own experiences and what I’ve seen around me. I also have no tolerance for people who do not respect the choices we have made and will be making, since all of our choices are made with the physical and mental health of the baby and Nutella foremost in our minds. I’ve been feeling very withdrawn lately, to my surprise, and have been avidly nesting. I am also feeling very overprotective of my little family and our home, and I can only imagine this feeling increasing when the baby is born.

That said, here’s one of the pictures we took among the cherry blossoms this weekend…Happy April!

belly and blossoms

belly and blossoms

15 responses to “Full Term

  1. That’s such wonderful news! Congrats on making it all this way!

    I’m about to meet with my midwife for the first time tomorrow (8wks). Do you have any advice about any questions I should be sure to ask?

  2. A. – We researched a bunch of questions to ask your caretaker online, but basically you want to get a good feel for how they handle things in their office and just gauge the overall reaction you get.
    Specifically, you might want to find out how they handle positive group B strep, breech babies, inductions, cervical exams at the end, etc. What will they allow you to do during labor (positions, eating/drinking, soaking tub). And are they completely drug-free (ours is…if you want drugs, you’re transferring to the hospital).

    Good luck!

  3. Hi Strawberry and Nutella. We are really excited for you both. Danny arrived at 38 weeks which even though we knew was a possibility, still sort of caught us off guard–but not really. Trust me you’re ready even if you think you need to do a million more things. Just so excited for you and your little pastelito! -M

  4. reproducinggenius

    I’m so glad you have a working shower again!

    The photo is gorgeous. I love the shadows of hte blossoms on Nutella’s belly.

    Congrats on full term! It won’t be long until you meet your little guy, now!

  5. Monica – Thank you! The only thing we MUST do now is get the car seat installed. I have to make an appt to do that later this week. THEN we’ll be ready :) 38 weeks would be fine with us!

  6. I can’t believe how close the birth is getting! The belly shot is absolutely beautiful.. so creative!

  7. Your office was very sweet to do that for you and the picture is so very sweet too. Looks like he could be here any day and you would be ready! Hooray! Enjoy the spring ladies and the last few days before two becomes three. You are going to be wonderful mothers and I can’t wait to meet little cupcke.

  8. LOVE the belly shot.. just beautiful.. with the cherry blossoms just makes it even brighter :)
    Very nice of your office to do that… the baby is going to be so lucky! Can’t wait to see all the wonderful pics of him when he gets here!! :)

  9. wishinghopingpraying

    Just beautiful!

  10. FULL TERM ladies, YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

  11. love the picture, soo beautiful!!

    congrats on making it to full term, i cant wait to “meet” your cupcake!!

  12. yippee on full term. I love this photo

  13. Great photo!
    Glad you guys are having a great week and are ready for Cupcake. I am sure that will make the next waiting period a lot easier.

  14. I am SO EXCITED for you two! I can’t wait to see tons of pics :)

  15. LOVE the belly pic!!!!

    over here waiting for cupcake to finish baking!!!…..

Leave a Reply

